Fun in the Sun

I found this cheery free digital image, Happy Crabby at 2 Cute Rubber Stamps and all one needs to do is use the image and post it on their website. I was up for the challenge and off to my workroom I went. I had a general idea of the type of layout I wanted to do and started out – that’s when the fun began, LOL!

Let’s just say I had to improvise more than once but in the end I’m happy with how the card turned out. I used two different Cuttlebug embossing folders, one to mimic the water and the other to imitate the beach. There is also a challenge at Copic Creations to create an embellishment using Copic markers.
I wanted to add some sand to the card to give it some dimension but I didn’t have any so I thought why not take some white glitter and color it with a copic marker. I placed some glitter in a baggie and just colored the inside of the bag and rubbed the glitter in it immediately before the ink had a chance to dry. I used a couple of colors of brown markers and I really like the effect I got from them. I just glued the swirls and sprinkled the colored “sand” over it!

I used the Life’s a Beach Cricut cartridge to cut out the sun in duplicate, layered the two together to give it a little more heft. For some reason the glue I used turned the yellow cardstock red – yuck! I grabbed a couple of stamp pads and tried to cover most of the spots up. I actually like the shading on the sun better now:-) I used a computer generated sentiment to finish off the card.

I used a stamp pad and lightly brushed over the water embossing to give it just a bit more depth, too. As you can probably tell the card opens from the bottom and the sun holds the card closed. There is a verse inside but it is not visible on the photo.

Paper: Bazzill cardstock
Digital Image: Happy Crabbie – Freebie from 2 Cute Rubber Stamps
Copic markers
Spellbinders: Square nestie

Thanks for stopping by, as all of my family and friends know – I love visitors!

7 thoughts on “Fun in the Sun

  1. heidi schwoerer says:

    Thanks for participating in the challenge! Your card is so cute and I love the glitter swirls and the way the card opens.

    Like

  2. michele (mitchygitchygoomy) says:

    Thanks for stopping in and seeing what I do over at SCS. Just thought I’d stop by and see what you do, too. You did that adorable little crab digi great justice with your creatively designed and textured scene. Love how vibrantly you colored him up.

    Like

Thank you so much for stopping by, I just love hearing from you!

