Going Round in Circles

This week at My Time To Craft we are “Going Round in Circles”.

I usually get some of my best ideas in the shower – why I’m not sure but the idea for this card came to me when I was too lazy to get up Saturday morning.  We’ve all done the puzzles where there are hidden words amongst a bunch of letters.  I wanted to make something with this idea so I made up a grid of letter using Excel – my sister the Excel guro would be so proud of me, he he!  I then saved it as a pdf and then in turn made it into a png file through my graphics program.  Here’s copy for your use if you’d like to try this technique.  Just click on it to make it larger and then save it to your files.  After I had my grid of letters I wanted to highlight the words Happy Birthday so I drew a green circle and layered on each letter.  To make the letter pop even more I added small acrylic domes from PaperTrey Ink over each letter.

I added the scalloped border using and Fiskars punch and added a few more circles with the ribbon.

The card looked okay but it looked a little bare (to me) so I added the Bugaboo party turtle and the card came together even better (the balloons are a couple of added circles).

I had another idea too on ways to work with circles.  This time I used PaperTrey Ink’s Dot Spot stamp set.

 I LOVE the color of the Hawaiian Shore’s cardstock , also from PTI.  I stamped the images using PTI’s Fresh Snow ink.

I printed the sentiment on to vellum, punched it with the same Fiskar border punch and added ribbon to it.

My little cutey bird is from Chi Chi Memorie’s February’s new release digital stamp set Meaning of Love – this is a super cute stamp set! 

I colored the image with copic markers and then cut it out cutting on the line rather than leaving a white matting around the image.  Here’s a trick I learned when cutting on the line – after cutting out the image, run a black sharpie or copic marker around the image to make all of the small perfections disappear.   It’s not often I do a monochromatic color scheme but I really like how this one turned out.

I added a large rhinestone to the large dotted circle just because it looked a little naked – can’t have a naked image, can we?

I hope I’ve inspired you to join us for our challenge this week – I can’t wait to see your “Going Round in Circles” creations!

Dee

Challenges:

Delightful Sketches – Get Punchy

All Sorts – It’s all about the Sentiment

2 thoughts on “Going Round in Circles

  1. Esther says:

    Thank you very much for sharing the Happy Birthday crossword! It’s a geat idea for alot of other sentiments as well. I think you may have started me on a roll!!

    Like

Thank you so much for stopping by, I just love hearing from you!

