Join us for our First Challenge…

Last week Digi Design House hosted it’s first EVER Blog Hop and this week Digi Design House is launching it first EVER Challenge.

Before I tell you about our first challenge, I want to thank everyone for their lovely comments last week – I read each and every one of them and I really appreciate all of the wonderful things you said.  Congrats to all of the winners too.  Want to win some more stamps?  Just play along with our bi-weekly challenges.

This week we are challenging you to use distressing somewhere on your project – No, you are not required to use a Digi Design House image for the challenge but we’d love it if you did.  Yes, of course there’s a prize.  This week the winning entry will receive Vintage Garden Labels..

So this was a real challenge for me – I’ve never made a card with distressing before, in-fact I’m one of those that changes blades as soon as I see the least bit of fraying due to a dull blade.  I started out by taking a plain piece of text paper and rubbing distressing all over it – then I crumbled it up and unfolded it, hitting the raised areas with two different colors of distress ink.  Then I ironed the paper flat – sorry I just couldn’t leave it cumbled:-)  I ran distress ink around the edges of the red backing paper to give it a more worn look.

Finally it was time to add my image.  I used two of the images from the Western set of stamps.  If you haven’t been to the DDH store – please make a point to stop by, the prices are so reasonable.  I think you’ll fall in love with these stamps just like I have.

I did something different with these image (different for me anyway).  I had the sentiment added to the kraft paper along with the hat and boots.  After printing it I decided I wanted to let the sentiment at an angle and it was too large so I cut it down but then parts of the boots were missing. 

Now came the hard part for me.  I took the kraft paper and ran a scissor (horror, horror) over the edges to distress the paper and then ran more distress ink over the edges to better show the roughed up edges.

I couldn’t have partial images so I printed the hat and boots again colored them, cut them out and glued them on top of the existing images.  Coloring on kraft paper was new challenge for me too but I rather like the subtle colors this paper gives.

I added a few embellishments to complete the card and Ta Da – I completed my first “Distressed” card, no meds were needed in the making of this card!!!

I hope I’ve inspired you to join us this week for our challenge at Digi Design House – I can’t wait to see what you create!

Dee

Other Challenges:

Stamp Something Challenge – Use a digi

Aly’s Sunday Challenge – Anything Goes

There She Goes Clear Stamps – Use Kraft Paper

4 thoughts on “Join us for our First Challenge…

Thank you so much for stopping by, I just love hearing from you!

