Sympathy

I didn’t intend on making a monochromatic card when I started but the more I added to it – it’s like it took on a life of its own.

I started with the sketch from Mojo Monday’s challenge:

I had a different card started but I couldn’t bear to add the ribbon to it as it took away from the DP I was using (you’ll get to see this one later).  That’s when I decided to use three different shades of cardstock but all in the same color family.  The medium and light tone colors were embossed using Cuttlebug and Craft Concepts embossing folders to give them a bit of interest while the dark cardstock was used to help ground the card.

Did you know you can now purchase Wild Orchid flowers in the US from I Brake for Stamps?  I need to give them kudos for their especially quick service, I think I got the flowers I ordered in 3 days – WOW!  For this card I’m using one of the Mixed Color Summer Blend flowers – it measures about 1.75 inches so this is a nice sized flower.  I added a button from my stash.  I also punched out two differerent Martha Stewart butterflies, layered them, sprayed them with a little pearl shimmer, a few rhinestones later and the card it completed.  I also used Spellbinder’s loopy circle and PTI’s border dies in making this card.

I hope you all have a great Sunday – we are having a rainy day here but it sure beats all of the snow we had this past winter.

Thanks for stopping by – Dee

Other challenges:

Woodware USA – Monochromatic      A Spoonful of Sugar – Tons of Texture   Lexi’s Creations – Monochromatic

Claudia & Company – Monochromatic      Scrap Creations – Pick 3 (I used ribbon, flowers, buttons & glitter too!)

Creative Inspiration – Punches & Dies      Crafty Catz – Embossing      One Stop Crafts – Monochrome

8 thoughts on “Sympathy

  1. This is such a beautiful sympathy card. I love your color choice for it and what a wonderful border punch that is you used. Thanks for playing with us this week at Going Grey with Scrap-Creations and Good Luck!

    Like

Thank you so much for stopping by, I just love hearing from you!

