Happy Mother’s Day

Welcome to our challenge this week at Aud Sentiments – if you haven’t already guessed our theme for the next two weeks is Mother’s Day.  Our friends in the UK have already celebrated this special day in April but for those of us in the US we celebrate this day the second Sunday in May; which this year is as early as it can possibly be May 8th.  Compound that with a late Easter, these two holidays are only a couple of weeks apart!

My card took on a life of it’s own – and I love that it did.  I started out with an entirely different idea.  I originally was going to place the three colored peonies in a corner but it was missing something – leaves.  I went back and found peony with leaves and decided to go with this image as the focal image and layer in the cut out peonies.

Welcome to Paper Garden Projects  Oh!  I forgot to tell you who our sponsor is this week – it’s The Paper Garden!  Not only do they have digital stamps but they have a variety of products – my favorite is they handle the complete line of Prism Cardstock.

Back to my card.  I used the Peony Digital Flower set.  I took the peony blossom and resized it to have three different sizes and colored them with copics, cut them out and added Stickles to give them a little sparkle.  This is where the card started taking on a life of its own.  The idges curled, I supposed due to the moisture,  I could have taped them flat but I rather liked how they looked more like a flower petal this way.

The sentiment was made using my graphics program and then cut out using one of the small oval Spellbinder diecuts and layered on top of another Spellbinder label diecut.  Of course, I needed just a bit more bling so I added a few square rhinestones.

I hope I sparked your creativity – I hope you’ll join us for our challenge at Aud Sentiments.  I can’t wait to see your creations and I’d love to hear if your creation took a life of it’s own too!  Dee

2 thoughts on “Happy Mother’s Day

Thank you so much for stopping by, I just love hearing from you!

