I am the light…

One Layer Wonder –

Our Digi Design House challenge hostess, Christine, is challenging us to make a project using only one layer.

Now I have to admit, I can’t remember when the last time – if ever – I’ve made a one-layer card.  So suffice it to say this was a HUGE challenge for me.  I don’t have any GinaK cardstock that would allow for the use of copics due to the bleed through.  What to do, oh what to do???  Then I remembered my Prismacolor pencils that I bought before I discovered copics.  OMG!  Can I say fun?  Why do I have these in a drawer collecting dust?

For my card I’m using three of the images from the Seascape set of stamps from Digi Design House.  One of the things I LOVE about digital stamps is I can layout my image prior to printing to make sure everything fits and is to the scale I want – no masking required.

I made the frame on my graphics program and added the sentiment along with the digital stamps – printing it on PTI cardstock.  A few quick swipes of color, a little bit of odorless mineral spirits to blend the colors and the coloring was done in less than 5 minutes.  I added rhinestones as I couldn’t stand to have a flat card, it needed a little bit of dimension.

I hope you’ll join us for our One-Layer challenge, you don’t need to use a DDH image – we’d love to see you use one but it is not required to participate.  I can’t wait to see what you create!  Dee

Other Challenges:

City Crafter Challenge Blog – I’ve been Framed      Truly Scrumptious – Anything Goes

Digi Doodle – Anything Goes     Stamp Something – Something Sentimental

Secret Saturday – Clean & Simple     2 Sisters – Anything Goes

The Spotlight Challenge – Challenge Yourself, try something new

19 thoughts on “I am the light…

  1. This is wonderful, Love the layout and added frame. Don’t you just love it when you pull out something you haven’t used in a while and fall in love all over again! Great touch with the rhinestones too!

    Like

  2. Francesca says:

    Brilliant card I love the colours and image

    Thanks for joining us at SECRET CRAFTER SATURDAY CHALLENGE
    This week

    Hugs
    Francesca

    Like

  3. Cathy (KraftyKoolKat) says:

    Fabulous. Well done on doing a one layer card. Thank you for joining us at DDSB this week.

    Hugs
    Cathy
    xxxxx

    Like

  4. bridget says:

    Oh My Word this is just perfect for our challenge this week, this is so very elegant,

    Thank You for taking part at Secret Crafter Saturday Challenge: 136 Clean & Simple

    Good luck with the challenge,
    Hugs Bridget 🙂 x.
    SCSC DT

    Like

Thank you so much for stopping by, I just love hearing from you!

