Arboretum Collage

Happy 4th of July!  We are having the most wonderful weekend here – the weather is just gorgeous, it’s sunny with just a slight breeze!

As a new week begins, so does a new challenge for you from Digi Design House.  This is a fun one – we want to see a “Handmade Flower” somewhere on your project/card.  There are so many different techniques now to making one’s own embellishments.

I must admit my Handmade Flower isn’t probably the most technically advanced but I think it works really well with the image I used.  The base of the flower was die cut using felt and a Marianne Designs die cut.  I topped the felt flower with a Wild Orchid flower and a button.

The digital stamp I used is Arboretum Collage from Digi Design House. If you remember a couple of weeks ago I dug out my Prismacolor Pencils and this image was just screaming for them.  I added a few warm tones near the base of the tree – do you think it looks like a sunrise?  I hope so as that is what I was striving for.

I printed the image out two times.  The first time, I printed the image on kraft paper.  I cut out the image and ran a white ink pad around the edges and then lightly swiped it across the entire stamp.  I really like the look of the white ink on the kraft paper!

The second time I printed the image on white PTI cardstock and colored the image using Prismacolor pencils and OMS to blend the colors together.  Okay, I have to admit it – this was actually the third time I printed off the image.  I printed the image on kraft paper and colored it using the Prismacolor pencils but it looked too muted and muddy for me so I opted for coloring on the white cardstock.

After I colored the image, I cut out just the center image and matted the image and adhered it to the card using foam dots to raise the image off of the card just a bit.

If you’re new to my site, this type of layout is my way of using all of those square layouts.  The card hinges and opens to reveal a square area to write one’s sentiment.

I added some twine to the left section of the card, topped it with my “Homemade Flower” to complete my card.

I’m so glad you were able to stop by and visit – I hope I’ll see your “Homemade Flowers” at our Digi Design House Challenge!  Dee

Other Challenges:

Digi Doodle – Anything Goes     Hannah and Friends – For a Man

Moving Along with the Times – Here Comes Summer      Lollipop – Anything Goes

Paper Crafting Journey – Anything Goes     Crafty Catz – Colors of Summer

One Stitch at a Time – Use a Digi Stamp     Craft Your Passion – Anything Goes

10 thoughts on “Arboretum Collage

  1. craftybunny says:

    This is fantastic.Beautifully coloured image.Love your tactile flower.Everything has a natural feel to it. Thanks for joining us at DDSC 😀
    Lisa x

    Like

  2. Wow gorgeous card the sunrise is fantastic awesome colouring very inspiring,

    Thank you so much for joining us at Crafty Catz this week, for our Colours of Summer Challenge,

    Good Luck with the challenge,
    Hugs Bridget Crafty Catz DT :0)

    Like

Thank you so much for stopping by, I just love hearing from you!

