It’s Magic

Do you love magic tricks?  Do you try to figure out how they work?  Today I’m sharing with you a magic card and I won’t leave you wondering how to make one.

Today we have a new challenge for you at Digi Design House and the theme for the next two weeks is Black and White and only those two colors.  If you enjoy using digital papers, you can find some Black and White papers that are freebies at the DDH store.  I won’t be revealing my card until next week but it’ll be worth it to stop back to see it.

What I can reveal is the magic to making this weeks card.  I found a fantastic tutorial at Splitcoast Stampers – just follow along and you’ll have a card just like mine in no time.  Okay, I admit it – it did take me a bit to get this one made but now that I’ve made one the next one will take just a fraction of the time.

The tutorial gives directions for using a rubber stamp and Stazon ink on acetate.  I knew that would never work using a digital image, after all this card is for DDH DT project but I was up for the challenge on how to make this work using digi’s.  My first attempt was printing on vellum.  Although the technique worked and the color showed through; the image was really muted – which would be fine if that was the look you were going for.

Not giving up, I remembered I had some inkjet transparencies.  The image printed beautifully but the transparency is roughened up to make the ink hold and it would have been okay to leave it that way but I wanted the smooth side on the outside.  I took my image and made a mirror-image and then was able to flip it over – Yeah!  It worked.

The digital stamp I used this week is DDH’s Bird Bath.  I used two of the images for the lined image, did you notice the colored image is a bit different than the lined image?  I added another bird and a sentiment.  The possibilities are endless with this technique.

I do have a tip for you if you try this technique – leave enough room at the top of your image to add the pull tab.  I didn’t so I had to make up a different method of revealing the image but it all worked out in the end.

Harder than making the card was taking presentable photos – the transparencies bounced the light when I used a flash and the card wouldn’t stand up when pulled out so I had to lay the card flat to take the photo – but I think you get the idea.

Mark your calendars for the week of August 1st – we are celebrating our 1 year anniversary.  We have lots of inspiration coming your way – you won’t want to miss a single post.  Did I mention prizes???  Yes, they’ll be some of those along the way, too!

I hope you’ll play along with our Black and White Challenge.  I’ll see you next week with my inspiration – until then, I hope to see what you come up with.  Dee

Challenges:

365 – Blue, Green & Brown      Crafty Creations – Seeing Double

Craft us Crazy – Anything Goes     Do You Stack Up – Wings

Phindys Place – Doubling Up (two images)      Paper Cutz – Anything Goes

Dream Valley – A Surprise      2 Sisters – Anything Goes

11 thoughts on “It’s Magic

  1. Tine says:

    Hi. I love these cards. Have made a few in the past. Fab shades of blue & a great card. Thanks for joining us at Phindy’s Place.
    Tine 🙂

    Like

Thank you so much for stopping by, I just love hearing from you!

