Wedding Wishes

Happy Sunday!

Last night my son’s best friend got married and I knew I had to make the happy couple a special card.  Knowing the colors of the wedding made it a lot easier to get started.  I think the red just pops against the ultra-white, so pretty!

I saw this sketch yesterday from Sketch Saturday and knew it was the perfect layout for my card.  I don’t make square cards very often due to the increase in postage but I knew I was hand-delivering this card so it was the perfect time to make a square card.

Not only that, using these fantastic flowers from Wild Orchid – the card gets quite bulky and I don’t have to worry the postal system will flatten or damage the card.  I struggle with my flower layouts but I’m quite happy with the mix of flowers and how they enhance the image.

The stamp is from Lilli of the Valley – I colored the image with copics and highlighted the gown with Stickles to give the dress some sparkle.

I am in LOVE with these gorgeous papers from SEI.  You can purchase individual sheets or all 12 patterns  of White Elegance in a paper pad, all of the papers are a pearl foiled paper and they are stunning in real life.  I went and bought 2 more pads as I know they will be used often for wedding cards.

There’s not much more to say about the card.  The sentiment is computer generated and die cut using Spellbinders long rectangles and layers on a Spellbinder label die.

I have a bonus card to share with you today too.  When I called my son to find out the colors of the wedding, he mentioned he needed a card too but said, “Mom, don’t go through all of the fussy work you usually put into a card, I just need something simple”.  Let’s just say that was a good thing as I was making the first card only a couple of hours before the wedding – I totally spaced out making a card to go with the gift.  I have a stash of wedding cards but I wanted to make something special as it is for my son’s best bud.

Again on this card, I used SEI’s White Elegance papers and layered them on to a pearlescent card base that I border punched with a Martha Stewart Lace border punch.  The small buckle is from Wild Orchid.  So simple, So elegant – it may have taken me only 5 minutes but I really like how it turned out.

I hope you have a wonderful Sunday – I’m hoping the Vikings can get a “W” today.  As always, thanks for stopping by and I hope I’ll see you again soon!

Dee

Other Challenges:

Creatalicious – Anything Goes     Anything Goes Challenge – Anything Goes

Scrap Creations – Anything Goes     Try it on Tuesday – Wonderful World

Creative Inspiration – Let’s Celebrate     Pals Paper Art – Lace (border punch)

Card Makin Mamas – Get Punchy     Simon Says – Use punches or dies

10 thoughts on “Wedding Wishes

  1. Jo says:

    WOW! so elegant! both are lovely 🙂
    Thank you for joining in our sketch saturday challenge this week.
    Did you know that we have a DT call at the moment?
    Jo xx

    Like

  2. I absolutely love this image and you’ve definitely done it justice, what a beautiful card! Thanks for playing along with our punches challenges over at Card Makin’ Mamas!

    Like

Thank you so much for stopping by, I just love hearing from you!

