Boss’s Day

I’m back – Sorry for the long absence but I haven’t had much time lately to play in my craft room.  Last week I tagged along with my hubby and his meeting he attended in Seattle.  I was so happy to meet up with an old friend and catch up with her as I haven’t seen her in over 5 years.

Friday is Boss’s Day and I volunteered to make a card that will get passed around the office for everyone to sign, he enjoys woodworking so that is where I got the inspiration for this card.

I can not take any credit for designing this card – I totally CASE’d a card by Mel Stampz.  I made the suede-looking paper by taking kraft paper and crumpling it up and lightly brushing over it with Distress inks – this really gives the paper the look and feel of worn material.

The belt was made by running kraft paper throught the Cuttlebug using a mosaic embossing folder and again I used a Distress ink in a deeper color and lightly ran it over the raised areas of the embossing and then sprinkled the paper with clear embossing power and then heat set it – almost looks like alligator don’t you think.  I coupld of large eyelets were added to look like belt notches.

I made the pockets using a rectangle Spellbinder die and then punching a half circle on the top.  I was too lazy to dig out my sewing machine so I added faux stitching to the pockets, tag and belt.  I added smaller eyelets to the pockets.

The tools were cut out using my Cricut.  I found the tool svg files at SVG Shop as freebies – thanks so much for the freebies!  The tag was also cut out with the Cricut using the Tags, Bags, Boxes and More cartridge.  I printed the sentiment out and diecut it out using a Spellbinder die and adhered it to the tag.

As always, thanks for stopping by and I hope I’ll see you again soon!  Dee

Challenges:

Craft Your Days Away – Tag It     Mark’s Finest Papers – No DP

One Stop Crafts – Anything Goes     Sweet Stampin’ – In Stitches

Bling it On – No DP     Sentimental Sundays – Anything Goes

Cards 4 Men – Make us Laugh     Truly Scrumptious – Distressing

The Kraft Journal – To Die Cut For

21 thoughts on “Boss’s Day

  1. audreypettit says:

    What a great card! Such a perfect idea for a handy man. 😉 I love how you worked the kraft to get the look of suede and alligator. The little pockets with the tools are fabulous.
    Thanks so much for sharing this with us at The Kraft Journal.

    Like

  2. A great male card. I love the suede effect paper and the belt and great tag too.

    Thanks your joining us this fortnight at Craft Your Days Away in our Tag It challenge.

    Sarahxx

    Like

  3. mandy says:

    This is gorgeous. Love the way you have made the backgrounds. Thanks for joining us at Truly Scrumptious,hope to see you next time…
    Mandy x

    Like

  4. WOW! You’ve used so many great techniques on this project and if really turned out super cute. 🙂 Love all the different textures. Thanks so much for joining us this week at The Kraft Journal!

    Like

  5. Wow, great CASE. You did awesome with this. LOVE the belt. great idea. (i don’t own that folder, darn) Thanks for playing in the challenge to not use DP with Friends of Speedy. We appreciate you. Good luck.

    Like

  6. That is just so darn cute. Your boss is going to love it….maybe you will even score a couple of points..lol Well done. Thank you so much for playing along with Speedy the Cat’s Friends “No Designer Paper” challenge. It is a delight to visit you and see what you created for our viewing pleasure. Good luck in the drawing and hope you can join us again in the next challenge.

    Bear Hugs,
    Carol
    MFP-DT

    Like

Thank you so much for stopping by, I just love hearing from you!

