Leafy Thanks

Fall is in full-swing here in North Dakota.  The leaves have turned their autumnal colors and are rapidly falling from the trees. It is a crisp, gorgeous day today with the sun shining and temps in the 50’s.

I wanted to try something a bit different today.  Last week when I was in Seattle I attended “The Salmon Days” Festival.  I loved strolling through the booth areas admiring all of the artisans works of art.  One artist in particular caught my attention, I wish I would have picked up one of his business cards as one day I might want to purchase one of his wall hangings.  He took actual leaves and through some “magical” process, he was able to strip the leaf of its outer casing, leaving just the webbing and then he would dye them in various colors.  He them made collages with all of the leaves  usually highlighting the piece with one bright leaf.  I wish I could say I did justice to his masterpieces but sadly you can see the idea but not the mastery of his craft.

Staying true to the artist’s rendition, I stayed with a similar color palette – maybe that’s one of the reasons I enjoyed his work so much was he had a contemporary spin on the leaves he used.  I cut out over 50 leaves with the Cricut and inked the edges of the leaves and free-hand drew the leaf veins.  I then started to layer the leaves randomly on the card and lastly added the red leaf that was stamped using a PTI stamp for the sentiment.

Thanks for stopping by – I hope you’ll stop back again soon!  Dee

Challenges:

Easy Craft Projects – Thank You     Sundays with Crissy – Thanks

Our Daily Bread – Make your own Embellishments (leaves)

Incy Wincy – Be Thankful     Mix it up Monday – Fall Folliage with Leaves

Totally Stampalicious – Thank You     Kaboodle Doodles – Let’s see those Leaves

Riley and Co – Leaves     Stamps R US – Fall

 

10 thoughts on “Leafy Thanks

  1. too bad you didn’t have a picture to share with us of the artist!! would’ve been cool to see. i like what you did, though!! Very cool!! Thanx for joining us this week at Incy Wincy. Hope to see you back again soon.
    renee dt

    Like

  2. Wonderful rendition of the painting you saw. Though I didn’t see the painting, I have an idea on how beautiful the painting looked. I’ve seen works of art using leaf webbings but the ones i saw utilized (1) leaf webbing (a big leaf) and at the center of the leaf is a painting. This art is ubiquitous in India. I’ve seen their works there. The one i’ve described can be either framed or mounted on a card. I took the trip in 1999 to India and saw there works there. I procured a few cards with these leaf webbings. One (the painting of which on the center of the leaf webbing is an Indian lady) i’ve specifically framed and currently decorates my room. But prior to that the family were gifted with a frame leaf with a Mother and Child painted on it. I find their work beautiful. I hope i could share the photo of these framed painted leaf webbings with you.

    BTW, thanks for joining us at Kaboodle Doodles Leaves Challenge!

    Kath
    Blog: “Let’s Get Scrappy!”

    Like

Thank you so much for stopping by, I just love hearing from you!

