Hoping…

…that your birthday will be a day of celebration!

I used several challenges for my inspiration in the making of this card for my brothers upcoming birthday, his birthday is on Halloween and I wanted to get away from giving him a card that had a Halloween theme.

For me making masculine themed cards is more of a challenge anyway so I used these challenges to get started.  I love the masculine feel to these colors. I have a few male theme digi stamps but I didn’t want anything cutsey, one of my favorite Mo Manning stamps is this Fishing image and it colors up beautifully.  I chose to use really soft, muted shades of color to offset the deep, rich papers I used.

I haven’t used heat embossing of a sentiment in a very long time but when I saw Prairie Fairy Fridays challenge, I thought this would be a great time to dig out those long forgotten powders.  To highlight the stamped sentiment I chose this sketch layout from Hannah and Friends.

I used some beautiful pearlescent papers but unfortunately, they photograph terribly – if I use a flash the papers look super sparkly and without the flash they look dull.  I wish you could see this card in person to appreciate the great look these papers give.

For embellishments I added a ribbon, rhinestones and a few metal stars.  The stars were originally silver but I had already stamped and embossed the sentiment in gold – so I colored the stars with copic to give them a gold appearance.  I struggled with what type of embellishment to add instead of the stars.  I had buttons, flowers, buttons and flowers with leaves but for some reason they all looked too girly.  I’m not overly excited about the stars but they are the best I can do with what I have.  I’m going to study other designers to see just how they embellish their male-themed cards as this is definitely an area I need to work on.

The border was made using Spellbinder new edgeabilites.  I used a border die along with one of the inserts, I really appreciate that they not only cut but also emboss.

I struggled with card for longer than I should have – is it my best work, no – is it my worst, no!.  I debated on whether or not to even post it but I guess I wanted everyone to know they aren’t the only ones that struggle at times making a great card.

Thanks for stopping by and I hope you’ll stop back again soon!  Dee

Other Challenges:

One Stop Crafts – No Designer Paper     OSAAT – Emboss It

Crafts 4 Eternity – Use a Metal Embellishment

 

17 thoughts on “Hoping…

  1. Ashley Horton says:

    What an awesome card!! The way you used the colors for the Color Challenge are perfect on this card! Thanks for playing along with us this week @ Frosted Designs!! 🙂

    Like

  2. Dee, your card is so beautiful, I am sure it will put a smile on any fisherman’s face :)…thank you so much for sharing your talent with us at OSAAT – good luck

    stitchy
    xoxox

    Like

Thank you so much for stopping by, I just love hearing from you!

