It came upon a…

Midnight Clear!

Still no snow! Yeah!!! It is really rare for us to not have any snow by this time of the year.  It’s probably a good thing it’s not snowing as the 40-50 mph winds would be causing blizzard conditions.  It’s been kind of hard getting into the Christmas card making mode with no snow but I think I can work my way through it, He He!

Today’s card started out using the sketch from this week’s challenge at Stampin’ for the Weekend.

I’m using a sheet of SEI’s Silver Valley paper, it is so-o-o pretty, one side is all silvery and shiny with snowflakes and the reverse side is a subtle plaid!  If you want to know where you can purchase this gorgeous paper, go to Bargainpack.com and check out the entire collection – I love every sheet!  I’ve ordered from them many times and their customer service is FANTASTIC!!!

I didn’t have a snowflake charm and I wanted to add one to my card so I followed Bev Rochesters tutorial on how to make your own charms.  I had a bit of trouble getting my Spellbinder die to cut the shrink plastic, I added a shim to cut through the thicker plastic but once it was cut everything worked well.  Making one’s own charms is definitely cost-effective and you can use whatever shade of embossing powder you wish to use to better coordinate with your project.

I have another sentiment to share with you.  Feel free to use use this freebie, all I ask is that you link back to me if you do as I’d LOVE to see how you use it!

The stamp is a LOTV stamp that was colored with copics.  I added Martha Stewart glitter glue on the stars for a bit of sparkle and to add a bit more sparkle, the ribbon also has glittered snowflake centers and just because I wanted a bit more bling – I added two square rhinestones to the top tabs.

I’m so glad you stopped by and I hope you’ll stop back again soon!  Dee

Challenges:

Delightful Sketches – Very Sparkly     Mami Doodles – Christmas

Christmas Stamping all Year Long – Use favorite sketch     Crafty Catz – Anything Goes

2 Sisters – Use Ribbon     Craft Your Passion – Anything Goes with Brown

The Cutie Pie – Add a Charm    Lexi’s Creations – Charming

Truly Scrumptious – BINGO; Glitter, Die Cuts & Ribbon

11 thoughts on “It came upon a…

  1. Marlies says:

    What a lovely card with such a cute image! Great colouring and lovely snowflakes! Thanks for joining us at Truly Scrumptious,
    hugs, Marlies

    Like

  2. Susan says:

    This is an absolutely gorgeous card, beautiful colour scheme. Thank you for joining us this time at Lexi’s Creations, hope to see you again soon.
    Love and hugs
    Susan xxx
    Owner Lexi’s Creations

    Like

  3. Laura says:

    Can’t go wrong with LOTV stamps and you’ve coloured her beautifully! The backing paper is stunning too – I love the slight shimmer. Thank you for joining us at Craft Your Passion Challenges. Laura x

    Like

Thank you so much for stopping by, I just love hearing from you!

