Peace & Joy

I hope you all had a safe and wonderful Thanksgiving and were able to share the day with family and loved ones.  I had a fun-filled day, I was tired after cooking and entertaining but it was so, so nice to have a couple of my brothers, my sister, my mom and of course the kids and their families were here too.

The weather yesterday was unbelieveable.  I sat out on the porch in our swing with my grandson and just enjoyed the gorgeous day.  It was in the 50’s, sunny and just a hint of a breeze.  I know for some of you that may not sound like the nicest of temps but believe me – we’ve had huge blizzards other years by now, so this weather if so appreciated.

Did you hit any of the Black Friday sales?  I don’t know what could get me to go out that early.  I did do a few on-line purchases though, no crowds – you get to know instantly if your items are available; that’s my kind of shopping!

This afternoon I helped my sister with a few of her Christmas cards and I thought as long as I had a few minutes I’d whip up a card too.

The inspiration for my card came from The Paper Players challenge this week to use the colors of Navy, White and Silver – love this color combo!

I  have another sentiment freebie for you – all I ask is if you use it to link back to me so I can see your creations – I’d love to see how you use it!

The silver cardstock was embossed using a Cuttlebug snowflake embossing folder.  The white DP is White Elegance from SEI – LOVE this collection.

I used a Spellbinders Label 17 and then die cut the opening using a rectangle Spellbinder.  I cut another frame to layer the sentiment on.  I ran a silver marker around the edge of the frame to glam it up a bit.

I diecut the horse-drawn carriage using a PTI die using both navy and silver cardstock and then just slightly offsetting one to may it look like it is matted.

I added 3 thing ribbons at the base of the card and topped the sentiment with a snowflake using a Spellbinder die topped with a rhinestone.

Two other challenges I’d like to share my card with are Papertake Weekly – Christmas challenge and Creative Inspiration’s challenge to use the colors Blue, Grey (Silver is a grey isn’t it?) and White.

As always, thanks for stopping by and I hope you’ll stop back again soon!  Dee

One more challenge: Paper and Such Design Blog – No Coloring

9 thoughts on “Peace & Joy

  1. I hit the Black Friday sales from the comfort of home…on my Mac! No crowds for this girl!! Lol! Such a beautiful card! Love the embossed background and beautiful image. Thanks so much for joining us this week at the Paper Players! 🙂

    Like

Thank you so much for stopping by, I just love hearing from you!

