For unto to you…

is born this day in the city of David a Saviour, which is Christ the Lord.

Let me start off by apologizing for the poor quality of this photo. I’ve tried for 20 minutes to get a better photo but the lighting conditions are just not cooperating, but I think you will get the idea!

I felt like challenging myself and when I saw the challenge at Scrappy Frogs was to use kraft paper, I figured this was as good of a time as any to try to use up some of the kraft cardstock in my stash of papers.

I’m not sure why I torture myself but I swear I’m the only one who can’t make a card using kraft cardstock.  Try as I might, I just can’t figure out which colors work well with it.  I found a challenge at Ribbon Carousel to use the colors Kraft, Red and Brown – well at least now I had a color scheme.  I couldn’t find any DP that worked well together so I used two different embossing folders to the cardstock.

I started off using three of the stamps from PTI’s Star of Wonder stamp set, stamping with a brown pigment ink.  I thought the red would be a nice contrast but found I needed the deeper brown mat to help ground the card.

I added a gorgeous deep brown velvet ribbon and finally the card was coming together.  The sentiment was stamped onto red PTI cardstock and a Spellbinder die was used to frame the sentiment.  I used red PTI cardstock for the base too.

All in all, I think it turned out okay – it’s just not my favorite compared to the other two cards I made today.  I’m off to check out a couple of the challenge sites to get inspired with ideas on how to use kraft cardstock!

As always thank for stopping by!  Dee

Other Challenges:

Totally Stampalicious – Non-Traditional Christmas Colors

Do You Stack Up – Ribbon   Stampin with the Dragon – Anything Goes

7 thoughts on “For unto to you…

  1. I think you are too hard on yourself! This card is beautiful, and I like it’s message! It is hard to photograph cards and do them justice. They always look better in person. Beautiful card; love it!

    Like

Thank you so much for stopping by, I just love hearing from you!

