Heart and Soul

In the past couple of years, I’ve become quite the morning person – I seem to get some of my best work done early in the day.  I made a cup of coffee and set out with a plan to make this card today and it came together so nice and quick that’ll hopefully have time to make a few more cards today – Yeah for playtime!!!

I started out with this sketch from Card Positioning Systems.  I’m really enjoying all of the sketches (15 in all) they are challenging us with – this sketch is from day 5.  I’ve been hopping around a bit with the challenges but my goal is to complete them all!

I looked through my stash of papers looking for some with small hearts on it, not finding any I made my own.  I used Pink Petticoat’s Pretty Little Hearts digi paper.  I wanted black hearts on red paper, so I grabbed some red cardstock and printed the black hearts on it, so easy.

The white background was embossed using a Cuttlebug Valentine embossing folder.  The border was made by punching out a Martha Stewart border punch and weaving a red ribbon through it.

I die cut the wonky Spellbinder die for the base of the sentiment.  The sentiment is a freebie from Scrapdictive.  I framed the sentiment using a rectangle die and fleur de lei rectangle die.  The hearts at the base are punched using two different Martha Stewart heart punches.

I didn’t have a small heart punch so I used my Spellbinder Heart Circle die and used the hearts that are normally thrown away.  It’s amazing if you look at your dies, the number of ways you can use them other than just as they are.  Of course, since this is a Valentine’s card, it needed a bit of bling so I added rhinestones to the center of each of the small hearts.

I think the red, black and white color combination is stunning especially for that special man in your life.  I can easily see this card as an anniversary card too!

As always, thanks for stopping by – I hope you’ll visit again soon!  Dee

Challenges:

2 Sisters – I I {Heart} You     Secret Saturday Challenge – Red, Black and White

Catered Crop, Follow the Recipe – Hearts     Cards 4 Men – Seeing Red

Hooked on Craft – Hearts     Cardmadfairy – Hearts     Stamps & Fun = Fun – Hearts

11 thoughts on “Heart and Soul

  1. Hi Dee,
    I love all the elements to this, especially the embossing & fab paper. It looks lovely. Thanks for joining us at Secret Crafter’s Saturday Challenge this week.
    Hugs,
    Andie xx

    Like

  2. Sheila says:

    Stunningly elegant card and those hearts are to die for. Thanks so much for joining us at Cardmadfairy’s Digi Days – I think a digi sentiment still counts! Sheila:)X

    Like

  3. Michelle B. says:

    Such an effective card, love the black and red! So many textures and the bling really sets the scene! Thanks for playing at Cards for Men!

    Like

Thank you so much for stopping by, I just love hearing from you!

