Dog Gonnit

Happy Sunday to you All!

Yesterday my hubby and I did something we’ve never done before – (before you minds go where they shouldn’t he, he) we made sausage.  I grew up on a farm where my mom had a garden and canned everything she could and if that wasn’t enough she also had the chickens to take of.  My dad harvested wheat, barley and oats and raised cattle and pigs.  I don’t think as children we realized just how hard our parents worked!

My dad passed away a few years ago and with him went the family recipe to make sausage.  I had watched and helped a few times and thought I’d give it a try.  When my dad made sausage he would makes a couple hundred pounds of sausage everything was a handful of this and a handful of that.  Let’s just say the sausage we made tastes good but it is nothing like what I ate as a child.

I think there is a lesson there – don’t let those family traditions die, learn from those that have the skills.  I know both of my kids keep saying they should watch me make buns as they love to eat right out of the oven.  I remember watching my mom make her buns and she didn’t measure the best either so I kind of wrote down the ingredients and amounts as she added them to make her dough.  Over the years, I perfected the recipe to the recipe I have.  The one think I learned just as my mom did, it has a lot to do with the feel of the dough and just when to quit adding the flour.  I love kneading dough, they it just something about the feel of the dough that is relaxing.

Okay, I’ve rambled enough – thanks for letting me take a trip down memory lane.

I have a few details about the card to share with you.  It all started with two challenges.  The first one is a color challenge from Chocolate, Coffee & Cards (love the blog name). I really like the unique color combination!

The second is this sketch from Critter Sketch Challenge Blog.

These two challenges work so well together!  Sausage Snatcher is a stamp from Lili of the Valley.  I had to use this stamp after yesterdays sausage making.  I colored the stamp with copics and then cut out the image – love the trail of sausages!

The backgound panel was embossed with a Cuttlebug embossing folder.  I added the sentiment to the left panel, printing it from my computer.  The inside sentiment is a belated birthday greeting.  I added a brown ribbon and topped it with orange and teal Baker’s Twine.  A button was added to the center of the twine to complete the card.

As always thanks for stopping by and if you have any family memories you’d like to share – I’d love to hear them.  Have a great week!  Dee

Challenges:

Cupcake Craft Challenge – En”twine”d     Stamps & Fun = Creativity – Birthday

Tuesday Throwdown – En”twine”d     Truly Scrumptious – All Creature Great and Small

Paper Play – Critter     Totally PaperCrafts – Ribbon &/or Bows

12 thoughts on “Dog Gonnit

  1. Crystal D says:

    What a fantastic card and I could not agree with you more. Traditions and recipes should be passed down through the generations. thanks for playing with us over at Critter Sketch!

    Like

  2. So cute!!! 🙂 Love that it reminds you of your dad. I know what ya mean; nothing I make turns out like my parents either, and everything tasted better when I was little. That is great that you are sharing what you know with your children. Hope you are having a wonderful day! 🙂

    Like

Thank you so much for stopping by, I just love hearing from you!

