Siesta Time

I think that’s what I probably should have done this afternoon but I did some housework, made some apple pie bars (Yumm!) and I just had to make another card.  Okay, I didn’t need to but I wanted to!

It all started with this sketch from Sketch Saturday.  The original sketch is for a square card, I just re-proportioned things a bit to make a rectangle shaped card.  The sketch is a great one to use up some of those scrapes we can’t seem to throw away.

For color inspiration I chose this color palette from My Time Made Easy.  My first inclination was to make a baby boy card or possibly a soft, feminine card.  So what do I wind up doing?  I make a western card!  Saffron and baby blue are not the typical colors one thinks of but you know, I think it works!

The image is Siesta Time, from Di’s Digi Downloads.  I used a combination of Promarkers and Copics to color the image.  I used Spellbinders Labels Twenty-One to die cut the image.

I embossed the cardstock with two different Cuttlebug embossing folders.  The sentiment is computer generated, die cut using a Spellbinder circle and layering it on a star diecut using Spellbinder’s star die.  I added some twine and even made my own lariat with the same twine.

The inside sentiment reads: There’s a Time to Work, There’s a Time to Play and There’s Always Time to Play!  Happy Birthday

Thanks for stopping by!  Stop back again!!!  Dee

Challenges:

Sarah Hurley – Die Cuts      Cardmadfairy’s Digi Days Challenge – Not Square

Paper Sundaes – Birthday     Paper Playtime – Sentiment with a Pet image

Incy Wincy – Birthday      There She Goes Challenge – Animals

Scrap-Creations – Critters     I {Love} Promarkers – Time

14 thoughts on “Siesta Time

  1. Super cute and awesome embossed panels!! The little rope is such a sweet little touch and matches the image perfectly! Thanks for joining us this week at Sketch Saturday and Good luck! 😀

    Hugz & TFS,
    xx Tracey/SS-DT xx

    Like

Thank you so much for stopping by, I just love hearing from you!

