Theodore’s Easter

Happy Sunday!  Just think, next week at this time we’ll be enjoying jellybeans, chocolate eggs and Peeps!  What could be better than that???

I drew inspiration for my card from three things.  First, this adorable Bugaboo digi image – Theodore’s Easter. Second, the sketch from Critter Sketch which I flippled on to it’s side.  Third  the photo inspiration from The Shabby Tearoom – to use the colors lilac, yellow, blue and kraft plus add a butterfly.

I have to tell on myself.  The first time I tried to color this image one of my copics ran out of color and I wasn’t able to blend like I would have liked – threw it away.  Reprinted and I was almost done coloring when I realized those weren’t large eggs they were Theodore’s paws.  OMG – did that look funny!  So what you’re seeing is my third attempt.  The good thing is it’s just paper and a bit of ink 🙂

I have a tip for you – you don’t have to just use dies the way they cut.  To better fit the image on my card, I cut off the bottom “bump” from the bottom of the diecut – I love using my dies in other ways and this worked well.  In order to get the embossing on the bottom, I took the straigt edge of the die and lined it up with a rectangle die and used my stylus and ran it along the edge and manually embossed the bottom edge.

Paper: Cardstock scraps
Image: Bugaboo
Die: Spellbinder’s –  Label Twenty-One, PaperTrey Ink –  Beautiful Blooms II
Punch: EK Success
Embossing Folder – Cuttlebug
Embellishments: Buttons – American Craft, Ribbon – ?

Have a wonderful week and if you have time – stop back later for more ideas!  Dee

Challenges:

Come and Get It – Easter     Clear it Out – Easter, Use up your stash of pastel papers

Pile it On – Create a Scene     Stamptacular Sunday – Playing with Pastels

Scrap Creations – Easter     Top Tip Tuesday – Easter, Tip too

Try it on Tuesday – Easter     Fab ‘n Funky – Easter

Catch the Bug – Easter/ Spring

19 thoughts on “Theodore’s Easter

  1. love the embossing, the image, the colours, how you did the sketch…. love it all – thanks for joining us this week at Pile it on and I hope you return again next week – goo luck in the draw

    Like

  2. How precious – I love it that you have used a Bugaboo image! Thanks so much for joining our Spring/Easter challenge at Bugaboo’s Catch the Bug. Your project is just perfect for our theme! I can’t wait to see what you enter for our next challenge that goes live in a few hours time!
    Happy Easter
    love
    Jen Leeflang

    Like

  3. Leslie McGhee says:

    Your card is so cute. But I really like your blog header. Great job on both. Thanks for taking part in this week’s Come and get it Challenge.

    Like

  4. Fabulous card, glad you got there in the end with your colouring too! and great tip! thanks for sharing that one! and Thanks for joining in with us at Top Tip Tuesday Challenge this time, Hope you can come play again soon, hugs Samantha :0)

    Like

  5. this is so adorable! I love this image…he’s so cute. your coloring is amazing!
    Thanks for playing along at Stamptacular Sunday Challenge…hope you’ll join us again for next week’s challenge!♥
    hugs,
    Stephanie

    Like

  6. So very darling! I love your color inspiration and the colors you hae used. Great take on the sketch. Thank you for playing with our sketch this week at Critter Sketch and good luck!
    Hugs,
    Georgia
    CS DT

    Like

  7. Adorable image, knew right away that it was a Bugaboo………You know 3 times a charm! I think we all have done that a time or two!

    Thanks for sharing with Come and Get It! See ya soon!
    Shell~Alaska♥

    Like

  8. Laura W says:

    I love the die cut around the bear, and of course the Bugaboo image too. Cute card! Thanks for playing with us at the Clear It Out Challenge Blog
    Laura
    DT Coordinator

    Like

Thank you so much for stopping by, I just love hearing from you!

