Peace, Love & Joy

Welcome to Christmas Card Challenge #28 “Woodgrain”.  Now don’t let the theme scare you.  You can use papers that have a woodgrain to them, I think Cuttlebug (and maybe others) make a woodgrain embossing folder, I bet you can think of other ways to incorporate the look of woodgrain.

I was racking my brain as to what to use, I have several papers that have a woodgrain to them but being one of the DT newbies I wanted to impress you just a bit.  As luck would have it, a couple of months ago I purchased some wood designer paper from McMahon Five.  This is real wood, it is cut very thin (like veneer) and as you can tell from card, I was able to die cut the paper.  I was tempted to stain the paper but as I had only one sheet, I didn’t want to take a chance on ruining it. I purchased the paper with adhesive back as I wasn’t sure how well it would adhere to other cardstock.  Let’s just say, I love this paper – I will definitely be purchasing more in the future.

Paper: McMahon Five Wood paper
Image: Prairy Fairy
Die Cuts: Spellbinder –  Oval and Poinsettia also MFT’s – Small Tag
Embellishments: Ribbon from stash, Felt – PTI, Rhinestones, Snow Accents sprinkled with Prisma glitter.

I wanted the woodgrained paper to be the star of this card so I used a minimal amount of embellishments but I really like how it turned out – let me know what you think!

Thanks so much for stopping by and I hope I’ve inspired you to join us at CCC and our Woodgrain challenge!  Dee

Challenges:

Creative Card Crew – Song Inspired “Here Comes Santa Claus”

Top Tip Tuesday – Sparkles Galore

Christmas Stamping all Year Long – Anything Goes

Crazyhazelnut’s Christmas – Feature a Creature

Hooked on Crafts – All that Glitters

The Pretty Little Ribbon Shop – Lots of Layers

Bunny Zoe – Anything Goes

7 thoughts on “Peace, Love & Joy

  1. Great card, it’s never too early to get started on Christmas cards. Love how you used rhinestones for the poinsettia. Thanks for joining the Sparkles Galore Challenge at Top Tip Tuesday.

    Like

  2. Hey there,

    thanks so much for joining the Creative Card Crew on this week’s Challenge “Inspired by a Song”!

    Make sure to check back to see who’ll be drawn as Top Three and who’ll be our Winner.

    Hugs and good luck, Elisa (DT)

    Like

  3. Fab card – love the woodgrain and that Santa image with the little reindeer – thanks for joining in my CHNC challenge 76 – hope to see you again soon. x

    Like

Thank you so much for stopping by, I just love hearing from you!

