Emboss Resist with CCC

I enjoy watching snowflakes gently falling to the ground!  Unfortunately here in North Dakota that is a rarity.  Whenever it snows, it seems like we have 30-40 mph winds and it is a blizzard and many inches of snow.  But every once in awhile we get just a dusting of snow that pretties up the landscape.

We have a technique challenge for you to try this week at Christmas Card Challenges. We’d love to see Embossing Resist somewhere on your project.  If you’ve never tried this technique here is an excellent tutorial for you from Splitcoaststampers.

I have to admit, I’ve only tried this technique once before but I was up for the challenge.  I grabbed a couple of stamps, stamped them on to white cardstock and sprinkled it with clear embossing powder – heat set it and then grabbed a handful of PTI ink pads and away I went.  I tried to not overthink it and just kept adding color here and there. I think my night-time color palette turned out pretty well, the purple accent is a bit of an unexpected color.

I wanted to add a bit of glittery snow to the trees so I dabbed them with some stickles.  The sentiment is from a digi sentiment I made awhile ago but as you can tell the shape didn’t work for a circle punch.  That is the nice thing about digi sentiments, I just pushed the sentiment in from the side and made it into a square sentiment which worked much better with a circle punch – gotta love working with digi’s!

To mat the sentiment I used one of the snowflakes die cut from Stampin’ Up’s Snowflake Border Die.  I took the snowflake and pressed it into a VersaMark pad, sprinkled it with Heat and Stick Powder, melted it and sprinkled ultrafine prism glitter over it and heat set it again.  The sparkle doesn’t show well in the photograph but in real life it sparkles beautifully.

Paper: Cardstock

Stamps: Lovely as a Tree – Stampin’ Up, Snowflakes – Great Impressions

Die Cut: Snowflake Border Die – Stampin’ Up, Circle – Spellbinders

Punch: Circle – EK Success

Embellishments: Stickles, Heat and Stick Powder – Stampin’ Up, Ultra Fine Glitter – Stewart Superior

I hope I’ve inspired you to join us for this week’s challenge at Christmas Card Challenges!  Dee

2 thoughts on “Emboss Resist with CCC

  1. Lorrie says:

    Dee,
    Both of the cards are very attractive…but I love the Christmas card! Thanks also for the tutorial link. I had heard of the resist method…but now I know how it is done.
    Lorrie

    Like

Thank you so much for stopping by, I just love hearing from you!

