I’d Pick You

Pick

By now you know my favorite color is blue and strangely enough I love the color black.  I think everything should have at a minimum an accent of black –  it just seems to make colors pop!

Color Inspiration: Dynamic Duos

Papers: Lattice and Wild Roses – Pink Petticoat

Sentiment Stamps: Today, Tomorrow and Always – Mark’s Finest Papers

Dies: Butterflies – Memory Box, Labels Twenty-One – Spellbinders

Punch: Eyelet – Martha Stewart

Embellishements: Ribbon and Rhinestones

I have a couple of tips and tricks to share with you today.

First the butterflies.  To make the butterflies, I die cut them once each with the same blue cardstock as the DP and the second time with a piece of black cardstock.  I glued the two together; pressed them onto a Versamark pad and sprinkled clear embossing powder liberally over all.  I heat- set the embossing powder and while it was still “wet” I dipped into the embossing powder two more times; each time heat-setting the powder.  Before the embossing cooled, I shaped the wings.  I noticed the blue cardstock changed a bit in color but I like the contrast.

The second tip in using the same die to mat the sentiment diecut.  Not all dies have a size that works well for matting but here is my trick when this happen. I cut the same shape die using black cardstock and cut the die in half and then placed each half behind the sentiment to mat the sentiment.  There isn’t any matting on the side but I like how just this bit of matting helps the sentiment stand out a bit.

Challenges:

Allsorts – Things with Wings

Paper Playtime – Use a Sentiment Stamp

Stamp with Fun – Friends

Deep Ocean – The Letter “B” (blue, butterfly)

Tip Top Tuesday – Tip (butterrfly and matting, see above)

 

10 thoughts on “I’d Pick You

  1. Bobbie Trost says:

    SO pretty! I wish I was like you, I use little black! Always seems harsh, but then I end up liking the result. Thanks for playing with the Dynamic Duos.

    Like

Thank you so much for stopping by, I just love hearing from you!

