Oh so Sweet…

Happy Sunday to you all!

Let me start off by apologing for not posting much this past week.  I’ve been a bit preoccupied by the major flooding that is occurring 100 miles to the north of where we live in Minot, ND.  I lived in Minot for over 15 years and my husband is from that area.  We still have family and friends that live there so I’ve been glued to the television watching the coverage of the devestation that is happening.

Yesterday I received some stamps that I ordered from Lili of the Valley and that was the motivation I needed to head up to my craft room.

I started off with this great inspirational photo from The Shabby Tearoom – the challenge also is to incorporate Polka Dots &/or Gingham, how fun is that?

Picture Perfect has a similar color inspiration photo – love it when I can combine challenges – don’t you?

I then chose this sketch from Creatalicious:

I looked through all of my designer papers and I couldn’t believe it when I couldn’t find any gingham paper.  I really didn’t want to head in to town to look for paper when I thought I’d try using digital papers.  I found this wonderful collection, Cherry Blossoms from Nitwit.  I’ve only used digi papers once before and I can’t believe I haven’t discovered how easy it is to use them.  The best part is, everything is color-coordinated – loved it!  I could print off just what I needed – no wasted pieces that I never know what to do with.

For the top embellishment; I colored the flower with copics to better match the papers, the swirls are using a Marianne Designs diecut and I added gem to the center of the flower and on each of the swirls.

Thanks for stopping by and thanks for being so patient with my lack of postings!  Dee

Other Challenges:

Everybody Art – Anything Goes

Paper Crafting Journey – Anything Goes

Crafts and Me – We’re in Stitches (sentiment)

Creative Inspiration – Stitiching

2 thoughts on “Oh so Sweet…

Thank you so much for stopping by, I just love hearing from you!