Heartfelt Grief

It’s been a sad week for my family, we are all still feeling the pain from my brother’s accident and his girlfriends death.  I wanted to make a couple of sympathy cards to send to various family members.

Every once in awhile I stumble across a blog where I LOVE every project on it and that’s how I feel about this site I found a couple of days ago, check out Im in Haven to see what I mean.  I’m CASEing this card, my isn’t as cute as hers but you get the idea.  I’m definitely going to get this PTI die – it just makes the card!

I made the sentiment – feel free to grab it if you like it.  I have two versions with a background and one with just the sentiment.

and

I diecut out the flowers using a Spellbinder die and then diecut it again with different colors of cardstock and inserted them into the opening.  I drew a straight line to emulate stems.  I punched the butterfly using two different Martha Stewart punches.  Rhinestones were added to complete the card.

My second card was made using distress inks to stamp the background, if you like the look of this card there are lots of examples on the Splitcoast Stamper site where I got the idea.  I added a PTI flourish stamp and Stampin Up sentiment.

Thanks for stopping by!

Challenges:

Chocolate, Cards, & Coffee – Thinking of You     Crafts 4 Eternity – Clean and Simple

Totally Stampalicious – Clean and Simple     Less is More – Sketch Challenge

Angry Birds

It’s my grandson’s 5th birthday next week but we are going to celebrate his special day on Saturday – it’s just too hard to get together during the week due to everyone’s schedules.

My grandson just loves Angry Birds so I wanted to make him a card with an Angry Bird on it.  I can’t take full credit for this card as I pretty much CASE’d this card I found by eliotstamps on Splitcoast Stamper.  I didn’t have all of the punches used on her card so I got a bit creative and repurposed quite a few of my dies.  I used Spellbinder circles for the eyes and body. I don’t have a window punch so I cut a strip of black paper and then used my largest circe scallop Spellbinder die to get the rounded edges for the eyebrowns.  I didn’t have a circle the right size for the eyeballs, I found a circle in one of Marianne Designs butterflies that was the perfect size.  The tail was cut using a Spellbinder flower die I cut in half and offset to get the fanning of the “feathers”.  I did freehand cut the beak.  I also freehand cut the hills, inked them with distress inks and layered them on a sky patterned paper.  The sentiment is computer generated and diecut using a long rectangle die from Spellbinder.  Can you tell I LOVE my dies – they can be used in so many different ways other than their original design.

I hope you get a kick out my card as much as I did making it!  Dee

Challenges:

Crafty Catz – Things with Wings     Craft Your Days Away – Distressing

Lollipop – Anything Goes      Paper Playtime – Anything Goes

Crafty Sentiment – Punches &/or Dies      Die Cutting Divas – Anything Goes

Party Time Tuesday – Anything Goes      Craft us Crazy – Anything Goes

Delightful Sketches – Punches & Dies     Scrapbook Sisters – Numbers