Looking at it Two Ways…

Good Morning!  I’m having an extra day off from work this week as today I’m gramma-sitting my adorable baby grand-daughter.  My daughter is a teacher and had to return to teach the final two weeks of school.  Rather than look for daycare for two weeks, all of the grandparents are taking turns watching her – let’s just say she isn’t much work, a bottle here, a diaper change there and of course lots of cuddle time!

When looking at the new challenges released today, I just knew I wanted to try The Play Date Cafe’s color challenge.  The challenge is to use Black, White with a splash of Mustard Yellow.  The mustard yellow gives the color a more masculine feel I think which is just perfect for a Get Well card I’m making for a relative that was recently in a motor vehicle accident. The color inspiration has a charcoal color so I hope that’s okay to use as I used that for the background color.

Stamps: Daisies – Hero Arts
Sentiment: Framed Out #1 – PTI
Punch: Butterfly – Martha Stewart
Embellishments and Miscellaneous: Pearls, Inkssentials white gel pen, Prismacolor pencils, OMS, Versamark, Black Embossing Powder – Ranger, White Embossing Powder – Stampendous

Okay that’s one way but I also wanted to do a more feminine card, this time I flipped the rotation of the card and used a canary yellow vs mustard yellow.  I subsituted rhinestones for pearls.  I didn’t have any yellow rhinestones so I colored some clear rhinestones with a yellow copic marker!  I freehad cut the yellow banner behine the sentiment.  It’s hard to tell but I propped the sentiment using black foam squares.

Stamp and Sentiment: Mat Stack 4 Collection – PTI
Die: Mat Stack #4 – PTI
Ink Smokey Shadow – PTI

I hope you enjoyed my different takes using the same stamp for two different cards.  As always, thanks so much for stopping by!  Dee

Challenges:

Sparkles – Get Well     Cupcake Craft Challenge – Simply No Design Papers, Birthday

House of Gilli – Embossing (wet)     Totally Stampalicious – Clean and Simple

Kaboodle Doodles – Clean and Simple     Top Tip Tuesday – Clean and Simple

Simon Says – Clean and Simple     The Paper Shelter – Birthday with a Sentiment

Hero Arts – Birthday

14 thoughts on “Looking at it Two Ways…

  1. Lucy says:

    Hi love the cards I have been looking for you I had to get a new computer and lost all my favorite blogs. So glad to hear you are at “designed to delight”, Looking forward to catching up with your back post.

    Like

  2. Hi Dee! I was so surprised to get an e-mail from Faith saying that I was chosen in the first place and then I saw your name! I am so happy to be able to be on a team with you! This is such a blessing I know it’s going to be so fun to!
    Beautiful cards! Love the effect of colouring on the darker coloured cardstock!

    Like

  3. Hi Dee, what fantastic cards. I love the images and your grey, yellow and white colour scheme is beautiful. Thanks for joining us at cupcake craft challenge this week. Hugs, Denise x

    Like

  4. shaz says:

    Gorgeous card! thank you for joining us at Sparkles for our *Get Well* challenge, hope you will join us again soon
    Good luck in the draw
    Hugs Shaz

    Like

Thank you so much for stopping by, I just love hearing from you!