Just strolling along…

Every once in awhile there is a challenge that comes along that I can’t wait to join in on.  That’s what happened when I saw this weeks color challenge at My Time Made Easy.Blue is my altime favorite color and combining it with Black and White – well that’s a match made in heaven!  I didn’t have a shade of blue quite as bright as the photo but I think this is pretty close.

The image I’m using is from Just Some Lines.  I took the penguin with the gift box and cropped out the gift and then added the penguin two more times.  I’d like to say this was an easy image to color but for some reason the grey kept wanting to bleed.  I tried 3 different papers and finally resorted to the fact that the coloring could not be perfect.  I added Stardust Stickles to the brin and ball of the hat.

There was quite a bit of unnecessary white space so I chose to cut the image out loosely following the image and then matted the image and again trimming a mat.

I embossed the white cardstock using the larger Cuttlebug snowflake embossing folder.  I printed the sentiment on the blue cardstock and punched a border using an EK Success border punch.  I added a gorgeous velvet ribbon to blend the two cardstocks together.

I diecut a Spellbinder snowflake using self-adhesive cardstock.  If you have some self-adhesive cardstock and you aren’t thrilled with the color of it, this is a great way to use it.  The sticky side now becomes the top and glitter can be sprinkled on it – I’m trying German Glitter Glass for the first time, the shards of glass give the snowflake a life-like appearance.

I’m so glad you stopped by and I hope you stop back again soon!  Dee

Challenges:

Glitter Geeks – Two’s Company (2 small penguins)

Mark’s Finest Papers – Seeing Double

Paper Pretties – Black & White plus one other color

Wee Memories – Holiday Magic

The Beary Scrap Challenge – Double or Nothing

12 thoughts on “Just strolling along…

  1. Jamie says:

    Oh, this is so cute, I love those penguins and the embossing. Great job! Thanks for playing in our Double or Nothing Challenge, good luck!

    Jamie from The Beary Scrap DT

    Like

  2. The blue looks perfect to me! Those penguins are simply darling! Love the glitter and the colouring looks great to me! Thanks for joining us at MTME pretty palette this week! Please join us again!

    Like

Thank you so much for stopping by, I just love hearing from you!