Today You’re the STAR

This is a card I made for one of my hubbies co-worker’s sons 21st birthday.

When I asked what his interests were, his mom told me theater and puppetry.  Now I have to admit at first I was a little stumped but then I remembered last month Chi Chi Memories stamp release was Puppet Show.

Now before you give me too much credit for this terrific layout, all of the credit goes to Karli from Crafting with Class – I totally CASE’d her card.  The only change I made was to add the puppet!

To make the card I used my SCAL program and melded a rectangle and circle together and then added another rectangle panel to get a 5″X7″ card.  On the stage front I used the Scor_pal to make flooring – unfortunately it didn’t photograph too well (check out Karli’s photo – hers is perfect).

The DP is Bazzill’s Swiss Dot paper.  I used the EK Success scalloped border punch to make the curtain topper and side panel drapes.  I ran the drapes through a Fiskars paper crimper  to give them the waviness of drapery panels.

I used a scrap of pearlescent paper and the fleur de lei Spellbinder die to embellish the valance tiers, I added a gemstone to each of the fleurs for just a bit more regalness.

The toughest part of this whole card was stringing the string for the puppet strings – the strings kept getting tangled into each other.  I started out using a filament string but it kept breaking and I thought what the heck – who cares if you can see the string or not and then it was much easier.

I colored the image with copic markers and on the crown added a few gem stones – after all it is a crown!

The sentiment was made with my graphics program.

I hope you have a great 21st Birthday, Seth!

Thanks for stopping by!  Dee

Challenges:

The Paper Players – Anything Goes     and     The Crazy Challenge – Happy Birthday

4 thoughts on “Today You’re the STAR

  1. What a fabulous card. I love this idea. I love the way you incorporated the puppet and the strings.
    So glad you shared this fabulous creation with the Paper Players this week
    Jaydee

    Like

  2. Marlene Peters says:

    Fantastic card. That is the sweetest idea ever. Love the curtain and stage look and your puppet is priceless. Thanks for playing with the Paper Players this week!

    Like

Thank you so much for stopping by, I just love hearing from you!